In 1920, the Canadian Battlefield Monument Commission decided to erect memorials at St.Julien, Hill 62, Courcelette, Vimy, Passchendaele, Le Quesnel, Dury and Bourlon Wood.
It was decided that Vimy would act as the National Memorial and have a
unique design. The other seven would be marked with identical memorials. A competition was held to choose an architect to desigh the monuments. Walter Allward of Toronto was chosen for Vimy's unique memorial and Frederick C. Clemesha of Regina took second place. Clemesha's design, "The brooding soldier," was built at St-Julien and had such as stark effect at its unveiling in 1923 that the Monument Commission decided it also should remain unique.
In conjonction with the architectural advisor, P. E. Nobbs, the cube design was developed for the remaining six monuments. A 13-tonne block of Stanstead granite was used for each. A wreath was carved into two sides of the monument and on the other two sides was engraved a brief explanation of the exploits of the Canadian Corps in that specific battle. One side is in English, the other in French.
(CHRISTIE N, "The Canadians at Passchendaele" from the series "For King and Empire")
A square platform of carved stone stands on the grass and the directions of the towns of Zonnebeke, s’Graventafel and St. Julien are indicated in bronze lettering.
In the centre of the platform is a huge granite block with maple leaves carved in relief on the front and back of the stone.
On the left of the monument are the words: “Après avoir franchi sous un feu meurtrier la redoutable fondrière quí était alors ce vallon l’armée canadienne s’emparra de cette crête et s’y maintint Octobre-Novembre 1917".
On the monumentís right hand side is written: “The Canadian Corps in Oct-Nov 1917 advanced across this valley - then a treacherous morass - captured and held the Passchendaele ridge”.
On the base is engraved: “Honour to the Canadians who on the fields of Flanders and of France fought in the cause of the allies with sacrifice and devotion”.