In 1920, the Canadian Battlefield Monument Commission decided to erect memorials at St.Julien, Hill 62, Courcelette, Vimy, Passchendaele, Le Quesnel, Dury and Bourlon Wood.
It was decided that Vimy would act as the National Memorial and have a
unique design. The other seven would be marked with identical memorials. A competition was held to choose an architect to desigh the monuments. Walter Allward of Toronto was chosen for Vimy's unique memorial and Frederick C. Clemesha of Regina took second place. Clemesha's design, "The brooding soldier," was built at St-Julien and had such as stark effect at its unveiling in 1923 that the Monument Commission decided it also should remain unique.
In conjonction with the architectural advisor, P. E. Nobbs, the cube design was developed for the remaining six monuments. A 13-tonne block of Stanstead granite was used for each. A wreath was carved into two sides of the monument and on the other two sides was engraved a brief explanation of the exploits of the Canadian Corps in that specific battle. One side is in English, the other in French.
(CHRISTIE N, "The Canadians at Passchendaele" from the series "For King and Empire")
The white granite monument features the bust of a Canadian soldier standing at “rest on your arms reversed”. On the front of the monument is a bronze plaque with “CANADA” in relief.
On the monument’s right side is written: “This column marks the battlefield where 18,000 Canadians on the British left withstood the first German gas attacks on the 22-24 April 1915. 2,000 fell and lie buried nearby”.
(The French version of the inscription may be found on the monumentís left side).
An orientation guide shows the direction of: “Ypres, Boesinghe, Hooghe, Zonnebeke, Passchendaele, Poelcapelle and Langemarck”.
The park around the monument was created with soil and plants brought from Canada.
The crossroad was christened “Vancouver” by Canadian soldiers during the war.